About Trinity Health | Trinity Health Awards

Trinity Health Awards & Recognition

Trinity Health has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® and the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Heart-Check mark for Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers. The Gold Seal of Approval® and the Heart-Check mark represent symbols of quality from their respective organizations.

Joint Commission experts evaluated compliance with stroke-related standards and requirements, including program management, the delivery of clinical care and performance improvement.
* Information sourced from jointcommission.org

The Plus Quality Award is an advanced level of recognition that allows hospitals to be acknowledged for their compliance with the Quality Measures within the Get With The Guidelines program. This is an optional award that a hospital may choose to pursue if they are collecting Quality Measures and would like to be recognized for their efforts.

Gold recognizes performance of 24 consecutive months or more.
* Information sourced from heart.org

The trauma center at Trinity Health has been verified as a Level 2 Trauma Center by the Verification Review Committee (VRC), an ad hoc committee of the Committee on Trauma (COT) of the American College of Surgeons (ACS). This achievement recognizes the trauma center's dedication to providing optimal care for injured patients. Established by the American College of Surgeons in 1987, the COT's Consultation/Verification Program for Hospitals promotes the development of trauma centers in which participants provide not only the hospital resources necessary for trauma care, but also the entire spectrum of care to address the needs of all injured patients. This spectrum encompasses the prehospital phase through the rehabilitation process.

Primary Stroke Center Certification recognizes hospitals that meet standards to support better outcomes for stroke care. Eligibility standards include:

  • a dedicated stroke-focused program
  • staffing by qualified medical professionals trained in stroke care
  • individualized care to meet stroke patients’ needs
  • patient involvement in their hospital care
  • coordination of post-discharge patient self-care based on recommendations of the Brain Attack Coalition and guidelines published by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association or equivalent guidelines
  • streamlined flow of patient information while protecting patient rights, security and privacy
  • collection of the hospital’s stroke-treatment performance data
  • hospital team performance data
  • use of data to assess and continually improve quality of care for stroke patients
* Information sourced from heart.org

Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies work with more than 90 percent of all doctors and hospitals in the U.S. and serve nearly 105 million members (that's one in three Americans). As a result, they have a unique perspective on doctors and hospitals that are effective in improving patient care and health. This perspective is the foundation of Blue Distinction®, Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies' national doctor and hospital recognition program.

These recognized doctors and hospitals are changing healthcare to be more patient-focused, coordinated and, in many cases, affordable.
* Information sourced from bcbs.com

According to the National Center for Health Statistics, nearly four million babies are born in the U.S. annually, making childbirth the most common cause of hospitalization.

Blue Distinction Centers and Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care are healthcare facilities with demonstrated expertise and a commitment to quality care during vaginal and cesarean section deliveries. These facilities are evaluated on several quality measures, including the percentage of deliveries that fall into the category of early elective delivery, as well as overall patient satisfaction.
* Information sourced from bcbs.com

Hospitals & Health Networks sponsors the annual Most Wired Survey, which is an industry-standard benchmark study. The survey is designed to measure the level of IT adoption in U.S. hospitals and health systems, and is useful tool for hospital and health system leadership to map their IT strategic plans. Health Forum, an American Hospital Association information company, distributes, collects and analyzes the Most Wired data and develops benchmarks that are becoming the industry standard for measuring IT adoption for operational, financial and clinical performance in health care delivery systems.
* Information sourced from hhnmostwired.com

The American Heart Association developed Mission: Lifeline to transform heart attack patient outcomes by connecting healthcare providers, prehospital providers and community stakeholders in a proactive system of care that saves and improves lives—from symptom onset through cardiac rehabilitation. Thanks to the program's success, the American Heart Association is expanding Mission: Lifeline to include all patients who suffer from both types of myocardial infarctions - STEMI and NSTE-ACS (non-ST-elevation acute coronary syndrome).
All Mission: Lifeline participants share a common commitment to American Heart Association best-practice guidelines and data-based quality measures, and benefit from recognition, regional networking and knowledge transfer. Join with the American Heart Association in this life-saving mission today. Select an option below to learn about adopting Mission: Lifeline at your hospital or EMS agency.
* Information sourced from heart.org

Hospitals that achieved CVI scores within the top quintile (20%) of all hospitals within their group were designated as Community Value Five-Star® Hospitals.
* Information sourced from cleverleyassociates.com
Trinity Health is accredited by the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer. Currently, accreditation awards are based on compliance with 34 standards of which 7 specific standards can be awarded a commendation level. Trinity Health was surveyed in April 2015 and received a full “Accreditation with Commendation Silver Level”. This full accreditation means Trinity Health complies with all standards at the time of survey. In addition, a program receiving commendation for up to three standards earns Three-Year with Commendation Bronze level. Commendation for four to six standards earns Three-Year with Commendation Silver level. Commendation for all 7 standards earns Three-Year with Commendation Gold level and an Outstanding Achievement Award. A certificate of accreditation is issued, and these programs are surveyed at three-year intervals from the date of the survey. Trinity has been accredited for many years, with a level of commendation.
* Information sourced from facs.org/quality-programs/cancer/coc